Curriculum Overview

KES largely follows the National Curriculum in all year groups. Students are taught in distinct age groups in Years 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 and in the Sixth Form, Years 12 and 13.

Students are organised within mixed ability bands. This gives faculties the option to teach students in sets or in mixed ability groups, depending on what they deem to be most effective.

Five Heads of Year work with tutors to supervise the overall care of students. Each child is placed in a tutor group and remains with their tutor from Years 7 – 11. In the Sixth Form there are two Heads of Year and a Director of Key Stage 5. Our Pastoral Achievement Leader also works with students in Year 7-11 to encourage them to reach their Personal Best.

Each subject area is led by a Head of Faculty and/or Head of Subject who ensures that the requirements of the National Curriculum are met, and student progress is maximised.

What is the the National Curriculum?

  • The National Curriculum sets out the most important knowledge and skills that every student has a right to learn
  • It is a framework given to teachers by government, so that all students are taught in a way that is balanced and manageable, but hard enough to challenge them
  • It gives standards that measure how well students are doing in each subject, so teachers can plan to help them do better

Key Stage 3

In Year 7 students study; English, Maths, Science, Art, Music, Drama, Geography, History, Religious Education, Information Technology, French, Spanish, Technology and Physical Education. In addition to this they also have one reading lesson a fortnight.

In Year 8 students follow a similar curriculum, however, they no longer have a reading lesson and have chosen to study either French or Spanish (with a small cohort opting to study both).

In Year 9 students study; English, Maths, Science, Art, Music, Drama, Geography, History, Religious Education, Information Technology, French, Technology and Physical Education. Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education [PSHEE] is covered during registration period and during enrichment days throughout the year. 

Key Stage 4

In Year 10 and 11 students study; English Literature, English Language, Combined Science and Physical Education. Some students also study Religious Education GCSE, whilst others embark on a combination of PSHEE and TLM in Open Systems and Enterprise.

Students also select three options. This may include Triple Science, Art and Design, History, Geography, Business, Child Development, Health and Social Care, Dance, Drama, Information Technology, Music, Product Design, French, Construction, Sociology or Media Studies.

Most students are expected to select either French, History or Geography as part of the option process. Year 11 students are also given the opportunity to study IFS Certificate in Financial Education after school. 

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now